Less is more….

Aloha!

Today I’d like to share insight on the psychology of contentment. In one of my all time favorite books, The Complete Tightwad Gazette, author Amy Dacyczyn shares an article titled ‘Creative Deprivation’ that discusses excess, deprivation, and contentment. Amy reflects on how she started buying her children a 1-scoop ice cream cone every time the family went into town. At first the kids were very appreciative and joyful, but after several ice cream cones, they were no longer satisfied. They wanted 2-scoops. Amy made what I believe is a brilliant parenting decision. Instead of “moving up” in ice cream like people tend to move up in house, car, and smartphone, she opted not to buy any ice cream. She realized her kids would no longer be satisfied because 1-scoop wouldn’t cut it anymore… So she deprived them of the ice cream until they would appreciate 1-scoop again. This is a lesson we can all learn.

Featured image

Before I became frugal I used to get a lot of massages and pedicures, and I also ate out out a lot. I started getting them more frequently, and pretty soon a 30-min massage wasn’t doing it for me; so I upped the ante and started getting monthly 60-min massages. The same thing happened when I started getting pedicures and allowed myself to eat out whenever I wanted…. I had spoiled myself! We talk so casually about being spoiled or spoiling children, and many people think that being spoiled is ‘cute.’ Spoiled is essentially rotten food that has begun to permeate with poison! I do not want to be rotten and poisoned! And I definitely don’t want it for my future children! I want them to have a happy life that is filled with contentment and meaningful work.

Featured image

Now I only get massages once a year, and I only pay half price or less. It’s a rare treat, and it gives me more pleasure and satisfaction than getting massages regularly did. I only get a pedicure with my sister like once every two years now. It means so much more to me now because it’s something I hardly ever do, and it’s an experience we can share together. That’s the most important thing! I think it’s good to forgo some treats until you can share them with others. It saves money, and it creates beautiful memories. I try to remember to deprive myself of things when they begin to give me less and less pleasure so I can put everything back in perspective.

Featured image

I’m not saying you should give up everything, or anything for that matter! I’m just saying that maybe you should evaluate the treats you allow yourself.  If they aren’t making you as happy or adding value to your life, maybe you should stop treating yourself so often.  And if you can learn to love what you have instead of looking for ‘more,’ it’s truly a blessing. Loving what you have is cost effective, and it just might keep you out of debt and out of depression

Many of us in Hawaii can relate because we are exposed to beautiful beaches and beautiful weather all year round. Sometimes we forget to appreciate it. When people get more, they want more. They’re not going to be happy unless they scale back and get down to their core again. Numerous studies have shown that money only increases happiness to the level of bringing people out of abject poverty. The rest is just excess. People like to spoil themselves because life is stressful. What about ‘spoiling’ yourself with meaningful work, quality time with your family, relaxation, and quiet reflection? This is a goal that I am constantly pursuing! My long-term goal is to be more spoiled with love and contentment and less spoiled with excess.

Featured image

Thanks for reading! : )  On an unrelated note I am currently in tax school, and I am studying for my Accredited Financial Counselor (ATC) certification. Tax savings/debt management blogs to come!!

Standard

One thought on “Less is more….

Leave a comment